..ang blog ni Yeyen.

Yacon, Anyone?

H and I were doing groceries this afternoon.  While we were in the vegetable section, he picked up something which looked like a sweet potato from the shelf and added it to our basket.  “What’s that?”, I asked him.  “Yacon”, he replied.  “What’s a Yacon?”, I asked again.  “Yacon”, he repeated.

When we got home, he soaked the Yacon in water and after that I thought he was going to cook it like that of a sweet potato (kamote).  When he started peeling the Yacon, I asked if he were going to cook it that way.  He said he was not going to cook it, he was eating it raw.  “Like a fruit?”  “Yes”.

He started munching on the Yacon while I was arranging the groceries and the watery and crunchy sound I hear every bite he took got me curious to try it.  He gave me a slice and I asked if it tasted like apple, judging by the similar sound I heard when I saw him eat it.  “No, more like singkamas.”

I’m not a singkamas eater, but I took a bite anyway.

Indeed, it was crunchy, just as I expected, but it was also juicy and sweet.  It did not taste like singkamas to me but like sugarcane.  After consuming a few slices, I asked H why he thought of buying and eating it.  He told me it was a powerful antioxidant.  He caught a glance of my questioning eyes and told me I better look on it in the internet if I doubt what he said.

I certainly did.

Aside from being a good source of antioxidants, Yacon, a root vegetable which looks like a potato,  is primarily an excellent natural medicine for diabetes and liver treatment.

“The root contains 86-90% water and only traces of protein and lipids. It is high in oligofructose (also called fructo-oligosaccharide), a dietary sugar, which the human body does not metabolize, hence its potential use for diabetics and in body weight control. Moreover, increased intake of oligofructose has been associated with improved gut health because of the stimulation of (beneficial) bifidus bacteria in the colon.”

“Research has proven that is beneficial for those with hypertension. By thinning the blood Yacon can lower blood pressure by 5 to 10 percent. It can also lower cholesterol and discourage clot formation. Unfortunately, Yacon has a reputation for diabetes patients but it is also excellent to reduce hypertension problems.”

My father died of cirrhosis of the liver, a complication of his juvenile diabetes.  So far, my blood glucose level is normal (90) but I’ll be crunching Yacon from time to time, just in case.

ready to eat sliced yacon

ready to eat sliced yacon

Comments on: "Yacon, Anyone?" (8)

  1. JC Guapo said:

    I hope we get a Yacon here in manila.

    Do you know that Bauno is so abundant in Sulu? It is everywhere, and almost all-year round.

    Curious really.

    The Butuanon dialect resembles a lot like that of the Tausugs of Sulu. They most probably did not just bring their dialect to Agusan but Bauno as well.

    • yenskay said:

      jas, yes oy, i love bauno. we used to eat it at celeste’s house in high school because they had a bauno tree there.

      look at the vegetable section in the malls there. i hear yacon is abundant in Baguio so it’s probably there too. basin abi lang nimo kamote or potato because they look alike. try it.

      hey, it’s also good for those under diet because the high water content will keep one full – para maintain imong pagka macho image diha (like eds!), hahaha.

  2. JC Guapo said:

    Hahahahaha. Nakatawa ko sa imong last line. hahahaha. Mao diay yacon, very cordillera word man gyud. Yes, I remember eating bauno ila ruth.

    sige hanapon nako nang yacon-a na yan!

  3. mackenzie said:

    sounds tropical fruits somewhere…but what’s the english of this bauno and yacon.
    i hope you can publish the unchopped version of the yacon:)
    i only know the yukon…car, place and river.
    urggh. i’m salivating(literally).

    • yenskay said:

      I don’t know about “Bauno” but the Yacon is also Yacon abroad. It’s said to originate in Peru : )
      Ay yes, I planned to take a picture of the Yacon in its original state but when I did, my husband sliced it all already. : ) I’ll take a picture when we buy some soon. It really looks like our Kamote.

  4. I think I already tasted Yacon before. Somehow, your post brought back a memory of me eating something similar to what you described here. Or basin nagdamgo lang ko…

  5. Hey, guys! I’m an animal nutritionist, and looking for some planters or suppliers of dried (sun-dried or spray-dried) yacon and/or singkamas so I can include them in my dog food formulations. These tubers have high inulin content. Inulin and FOS are good prebiotics. So can anyone help me find suppliers? Thank you very much!

    GOD BLESS!!!

    • i think you better look for suppliers in baguio because that’s where yacon is supposed to be very abundant. good luck!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

