..ang blog ni Yeyen.

It’s hard to say goodbye…

… to my Nokia N70 Music Edition!

The time came once again when I’m eligible to renew my retention plan with Smart.  I did not want to apply yet because my phone is perfectly fine with me and since the Samsung Omnia I really wanted still required me to shell out P 20,000.00 based on my recent plan, I deemed I’ll hold on until the price lowers eventually (so far, it’s taking forever).

That was before my sister, who knew that my retention contract was ready for renewal, called me to say her Nokia 6120 Classic broke down.  My sister has never bought a cellular phone in her whole existence and she merely assumes whatever cellular phones are already up for grabs within the family when any of us renews our retention plans and obtain new ones.  I got her frantic call during the weekend, ordering me to renew my plan already so that she can have my Nokia N70.  She begged on, saying that undergoing residency training at PGH demands one immediately.  ASAP.  I did not want to worry her anymore, so I acceded.

I browsed at the available cellular phones at http://www.smart.com.ph.  I had in mind the following features to look for:

1.  Touch phone. Preferably like the one Gu Jun Pyo used in Boys Over Flowers, hahaha! Watching all those koreanobelas had me ogling over the Samsung Omnia or the LG TouchMobiles.

2. Improved if not superior  music features.  I don’t own an Ipod or any similar device since I don’t see the need to get one.  My Nokia N70 Music Edition does the job for me.  It’s only when I’m on a plane and I’m not allowed to turn on the phone that I always make a mental note of getting an Ipod soon – but the thought never comes to mind again once the plane has landed.

3.  A big screen decent enough to watch episodes of my dramas.   I usually accompany my mom during her bisphonal infusions which takes a little over two hours.  I normally pass the time by reading and listening to music over Nokia N70.  That was okay with me — until my mom’s recent infusion.  I was beside a patient’s daughter and she was whiling the time watching a movie on her IPhone.  My eyes turned green.

4.  WIFI Ready.  I don’t own a mini-laptop which I can carry along with me everywhere I go like my cousin does.  I usually check my emails (and Facebook!) using my Nokia N70 whenever I’m out of town because it’s so heavy to bring my HP laptop just for checking my emails (unless I have a deadline to beat).   Every time I use my phone for internet purposes, I have to pay P10.00 per 30 minutes of internet browsing.

5.  Camera with megapixels over 2.0.  My Nokia N70 has a camera with 2.0MP so I figured, my new phone better have more than 2.0MP, otherwise, what’s the use of getting another?  In fairness, my N70  takes good pictures outdoors, during daytime, or when there is sufficient light in the background.  Pictures taken under low lighting conditions must be taken up close to make presentable photos since the flash is not enough for far objects.

6. Nokia branded.  This primarily because majority of my most cherished songs stored in my N70 are in .aac format.  I think this is only unique to Nokia phones as the MP3s are converted to .aac format upon transfer to the phone.  Compared with songs in MP3 formats, .aac formats consume lesser megabytes.  I’d like the new phone to be Nokia so that I can easily transfer all my songs to the new memory stick without need of conversion (back to mp3 format).

7.  Video Call.  Most phones of my immediate family are video call capable because my two sisters live in Manila and since video call charges and voice call charges are the same, we adopt talking and viewing each other simultaneously since it’s much more fun.

With all the above, I didn’t take much time deciding on Nokia 5800 XpressMusic.  The choice was simple – I wanted a Nokia branded touchphone.  This is presently the only touchphone of Nokia.  Categorically:

1.  I don’t dare give in to my folly and get Gu Jun Pyo’s cellphone (although H gave his go signal).  P 20, 000.00 is too big an amount to pay in addition to the time lock plan of 2 years.  I’d rather buy a mini-laptop than get the Samsung Omnia.  For my Nokia 5800, I only paid P 5,500.00 under the same conditions.  Despite this, it was still tough for me who is used to choosing the phones that are absolutely free in the past.

2.  The Nokia 5800 Xpress Music is not Express Music for nothing.  It supports AAC, AAC+, eAAC+, MP3 and WMA file formats.  I can also listen to podcasts.  This phone’s got loudspeakers too.  Its video function support MPEG formats (too bad, it does not support .avi files).

3.  The screen is big enough for me too.

4.  WIFI ready, whoopee!And GPS ready too.

5.  It’s got a 3.2 MP camera with dual LED flash for low light conditions.

6.  Video call capable too.

I got my Nokia 5800 a few days ago and special thanks to Ralphy for processing and releasing it less than three hours after I signed the application.  Since then, I’ve happily used and explored my new phone.  The full specifications of the phone are:

General 2G Network GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900
3G Network HSDPA 900 / 2100
HSDPA 850 / 1900 – American version
Size Dimensions 111 x 51.7 x 15.5 mm, 83 cc
Weight 109 g
Display Type TFT resistive touchscreen, 16M colors
Size 360 x 640 pixels, 3.2 inches
– Proximity sensor for auto turn-off
– Accelerometer sensor for auto-rotate
– Handwriting recognition
Sound Alert types Vibration; Downloadable polyphonic, MP3 ringtones
Speakerphone Yes, with stereo speakers
– 3.5 mm audio jack
Memory Phonebook Practically unlimited entries and fields, Photocall
Call records Detailed, max 30 days
Internal 81 MB storage, 128 MB RAM
Card slot microSD (TransFlash), up to 16GB, 8GB included, buy memory
Data GPRS Class 32
HSCSD Yes
EDGE Class 32
3G HSDPA, 3.6 Mbps
WLAN Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g, UPnP technology
Bluetooth Yes, v2.0 with A2DP
Infrared port No
USB Yes, v2.0 microUSB
Camera Primary 3.15 MP, 2048×1536 pixels, Carl Zeiss optics, autofocus, LED flash
Video Yes, VGA@30fps
Secondary Videocall camera
Features OS Symbian OS v9.4, Series 60 rel. 5
CPU ARM 11 434 MHz processor
Messaging SMS, MMS, Email, Instant Messaging
Browser WAP 2.0/xHTML, HTML, RSS feeds
Radio Stereo FM radio with RDS
Games Yes + Java downloadable
Colors Black, Red, Blue
GPS Yes, with A-GPS support; Nokia Maps 2.0 Touch
Java Yes, MIDP 2.0
– WMV/RV/MP4/3GP video player
– MP3/WMA/WAV/RA/AAC/M4A music player
– TV-out
– Voice command/dial
– Document viewer (Word, Excel, PowerPoint)
– T9
– Photo editor
Battery Standard battery, Li-Ion 1320 mAh(BL-5J)
Stand-by Up to 406 h (2G) / 408 h (3G)
Talk time Up to 8 h 45 min (2G) / 5 h (3G)
Music play Up to 35 h

Nevertheless, I still felt a sense of loss when I cleaned up my N70 in preparation for its delivery to my sister.  I erased all the messages, the personalized profiles, and transferred all the videos and the pictures I had taken and stored there in the span of a little over two years.  I examined each picture and each video, hoping to rid some in the process, but I could not bring myself to erase any.  So many happy memories surround those pictures and videos.  So, I transferred them all in bulk and burned it in a cd.

My N70 had been with me through happy and turbulent times.  I got it around the time of the 2007 Elections when I was so busy working for a client who was a Congressional candidate.  I used it then and listened to my music during the wee hours of the morning when the votes were counted and canvassed.  It was also shortly after the election was over when my mother was diagnosed with Stage 1 Breast Cancer and my phone burned phone lines talking to my sisters all the time.

My N70 is just there in the corner of the table in our bedroom.  I have not yet placed it in the box since it will still be on Saturday that my cousin will go to Manila and bring it to my sister.  I looked at it several times this week and I felt a tinge of guilt – seems like I have betrayed it when I discarded it for a better one.  Yet, I know I’ll soon forget about my attachment to my N70 once it’s out of my sight.

Nokia-N70-Music-Editionnokia_5800_xpressmusic

Comments on: "It’s hard to say goodbye…" (2)

  1. OMG you are so techie!

    im so jealous na talaga. : )

  2. ahay, techie? if i know your SE is more techie capable than the nokia but you’re not using it to the fullest : ) in other words, tapolan mobasa sa manual : )

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

